For years I’ve been dreaming of a live-performance sequencer that would give me the power and flexibility to perform music with a perfect balance between the ability to control, improvise & automate. Drawing heavily on sequencing paradigms developed at Yamaha (16 sections with multiple tracks per section), I built and programmed my own….

On the Sneaquencer, I can choose any song and it will instantly begin playing. Since it has two independent sequencers, I can mix and match everything on the fly: “Oh how about the drums from this song mixed with the melodies from this one? Or the vocals from this other track mixed in with this track’s bassline?”

It’s a live performer’s paradise – I can change directions any time and mix and match material to create unique and reactive live sets.

For the whole story, visit CDM: Sneak-Thief’s Sneaquencer is a DIY Monster.

MUCH more tech detail on Sneak-Thief’s website. Then ogle his DIY 8-rack modular. From there find a collection of tracks on Synthcloud, which leads to the goodies at electro-music.com. Never doubt, there’s a whole lot of makin’ goin on!

